Journal Pages Galore

One of my favorite things is creating a full and cohesive piece in my journals. While I do also make thumbnail sketches and work out ideas in my journal as well. All of the following pieces are from my personal journal, the Metronome Lever Journal.

Deep Diver

Deep Diver

So this is the first of some of my journal pages that I want to share with you. This is one I’m particularly proud of. I knocked this one out at a journaling night at the Artfest Annex. The way the light from his helmet bleeds out into the surrounding water is my favorite part. All of the pages that I’m sharing with you are colored with Peerless Watercolor Papers and a water pen. I think the pen that I was using at the time was a Pitt brand, size Medium.

The Protective Tenticles

The Protective

TentaclesThe Protective Tentacles was a piece that I did in response to Deep Diver. Again, I’m fairly pleased with this one. The colors and the composition turned out really cool. Again I did this one at the Annex on another journaling night.

Pax Romanis

Pax Romanis

This one is a bit of a story. I did this one while up at Soul Food Books in Redmond while listening to a public talk that Trista and I attended. While the talk was interesting it didn’t hold my complete interest. I just sort of started drawing this skull and banner. The speaker started talking about Ancient Rome and I decided to draw the map in as the background. The whole “Pax Romanis” thing was me trying to be clever and totally fouling up my Latin. What I wanted was “Pax Romana” but it had been about 11 years since I took Latin in high school and couldn’t come up with the right words. Personally I like it better misspelled. Gives it caracter.

More journal pages will be coming soon.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

